Marine Debris Webinar: Plastic waste inputs from land into the ocean

[from the INDEEP mailing list]

Webinar: Plastic waste inputs from land into the ocean

Featuring Jenna Jambeck, University of Georgia

Event date: Wednesday, 8 April 2015, at 1 pm EDT / 10 am PDT / 5 pm GMT

Presented by MarineDebris.Info

To register:

One of the longest-standing questions facing the marine debris science community has been how much plastic waste is entering the global ocean annually. Jenna Jambeck led a research team to answer this, linking worldwide data on waste management infrastructure, population density, and economic status. The findings: as much as 12.7 million metric tons of plastic is entering the global ocean annually, and unless waste management practices are improved, the influx of ocean plastic could increase by an order of magnitude within the next decade. (The study is at

In this one-hour webinar, Jenna will cover this groundbreaking study and answer audience questions on her methods and findings, including the implications for reducing marine debris.

Jenna Jambeck is an assistant professor in the College of Engineering at the University of Georgia.  She conducts research and teaches environmental engineering with a focus on solid waste.

To register:

Recording: If you miss the live event, a recording of the webinar will be available afterward at MarineDebris.Info.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *